Syndicate content

Government Government

City of Fridley

Fridley is a city in Anoka County, Minnesota, United States. The population was 27,449 at the 2000 census. Fridley is a "first ring" or "inner ring" suburb in the Northern part of the Twin Cities, and will have one of the first six stations of the Northstar Corridor commuter rail line connecting the northwest suburbs and downtown Minneapolis.

City of Falcon Heights

Located just ten minutes from both downtown St. Paul and Minneapolis, Falcon Heights is the home of the Minnesota State Fair and the University of Minnesota St. Paul Campus, whose wide open agricultural fields give the community a rural feel in the heart of the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

City of Edina

Edina has grown into a full service metropolitan community. Residential areas comprise the largest portion of the City, now more than 95 percent developed. Edina residents enjoy 39 parks, lakes, neighborhood and regional shopping areas, high-quality medical facilities, family-owned businesses and major corporations and churches.

City of Columbia Heights

"The small, friendly city at the top of the St. Paul/Minneapolis, Minnesota metro area," is adjacent to Minneapolis. Its location affords residents and businesses easy access to the Twin Cities as well as all the benefits of a well-established first-ring suburb.

City of Brooklyn Center

Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, is nestled along the banks of the Mississippi River just a few miles from downtown Minneapolis. Home to 29,172 residents, Brooklyn Center prides itself on its 522 acres of parks and nature centers, diverse residential and business community, affordable housing, quality education,convenient health care, accessible transportation, and historic Earle Brown Heritage Center.

Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport (Metropolitan Airports Commission)

The Metropolitan Airports Commission was created by state law in 1943. A public corporation, the commission was designed to provide for coordinated aviation services throughout the Twin Cities metropolitan area. Today, the MAC operates the third largest aviation system in the nation, consisting of Minneapolis-St. Paul International and six reliever airports.

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

The DNR's mission is to work with citizens to conserve and manage the state's natural resources, to provide outdoor recreation opportunities, and to provide for commercial uses of natural resources in a way that creates a sustainable quality of life.

Minnesota Department of Transportation

Mn/DOT aims to provide the highest quality, dependable multi-modal transportation system through ingenuity, integrity, alliance and accountability.

Metropolitan Council

The Metropolitan Council is the regional planning agency serving the Twin Cities seven-county metropolitan area and providing essential services to the region. The Council works with local communities to provide these critical services: 1) operates the region's largest bus system; 2) collects and treats wastewater; 3) engages communities and the public in planning for future growth; 4) provides forecasts of the region's population and household growth; 5) provides affordable housing opportunities for low- and moderate-income individuals and families; 6) provides planning, acquisitions and funding for a regional system of parks and trails; 7) provides a framework for decisions and implementation for regional systems including aviation, transportation, parks and open space, water quality and water management.

Minneapolis City Council

The City of Minneapolis is divided into thirteen wards. The City Council is made up of one Council Member from each ward. Council Members are elected to four-year terms.